Planning at a Standstill

Our family is standing at a crossroads. We are contemplating a big change in our schooling, and it might mean not homeschooling next year, or only homeschooling part-time.

It’s a tough decision, and I don’t think either way is a bad or wrong decision.

I’m just feeling a little panicked that I haven’t done any planning for next year.

The bright side is I will have help if we do decide to stay the course in homeschooling. I will be blessed by those generous people who share their planning ideas and schedules and book lists.

May I ask prayers from my readers? This discernment process is super tough on me!!!!

13 thoughts on “Planning at a Standstill

  1. I will pray for you! I know discernments like that can be tough.

    If it makes you feel any better – I know I will be homeschooling next year and still haven’t started planning! Ack! And yes, thank goodness for the kindness and generosity of all those who share their lists and finds online!!

  2. We were at that same crossroads last year. Our two oldest sons were diagnosed with autism within a year of each other and we ultimately decided to send them to school. It has been a beautiful experience for them both. We’re open to homeschooling in the future, but for now they are thriving and we will leave them in school. It was hard to let go of the homeschooling dream, but it was what was best for our kids at the time. Plus it leaves me time to plan all the fun projects! Praying for you Jennifer.

  3. Prayers Jenn. We were at these crossroads last summer. It’s true — the decision is not good or bad, just what fits best into your family for this particular period of time. :) Figuring that out can be tricky though!

  4. Many prayers, Jenn. It is such a hard decision. We all want the best for our children. Sometimes the best is not homeschooling. That thought has crossed my mind many times with my girls. It may be in our future someday as well and then I’ll be the one asking for prayers! Let us know what you decide.

  5. I pray for you Jennifer and your family. I hope that the way forward comes clear to you. It is bound to feel difficult…making a change involves risk and the unknown…but follow your inner inclination…it usually does not fail you.

  6. Jenn, I will keep you in my prayers. These kind of decisions are really tough! It is a relief to know, that we are free to change our minds at a later time. It doesn’t have to be forever????

  7. Praying for you! I tell people that I home school on a year-to-year basis, it just depends on our needs. I love that we are in a country that allows us such freedom of choice!!

  8. Praying for you Jenn. This same decision comes up for us frequently. It’s so difficult. Next year the best friends of two of my children will be going to school. We prayed like mad, wondering if we should do the same. It took a while, but I have peace now that we are supposed to continue on in our homeschooling. I pray you will have the same assurance of what you are to do.

Thanks for the comment! I love hearing from you!

