Prepare Now!

Advent begins this Sunday. I’m currently updating some of my plans and files for 2011 (Liturgical Year 2012). I haven’t quite finished all my updates, especially for my reading plans, but here are some of the updated files for Advent 2011:

My Little Advent cards 2011
Printable Advent calendar 2011
Printable Christmas calendar 2011

I have created a 2-sided prayer booklet for the Advent Wreath. I wanted to incorporate the new translation of the Collect prayers from Sunday, and also incorporate the figures and themes of our Salvation History. Advent Wreath Prayers New Translation 2011

I have loads of posts for this season, but here’s a summary of highlights:

Activities:
My Little Advent Advent cards for each day in Advent and a printable Advent Calendar. The updated files are above.
Preparing the Manger
Loveliness of Advent various links

Advent Reading
Advent Reading for Adults
Prepare the Way of the Lord Advent plans
Alphabet Advent 2009
Alphabet Advent 2010
Short List for Advent Reading
Advent Catechesis: Biffi reading plan 2009
Advent Catechesis: Biffi reading plan 2010

Advent Wreath:
Advent Wreath Prayers above.
Decorating for Advent Suspending our Advent wreath
Salvation History Presented Through the Advent wreath
The Advent Wreath Prayer in Advent
Christmas Anticipation Prayer and Novena for the Immaculate Conception

Prayers:
Prayer in Advent
Christmas Anticipation Prayer and Novena for the Immaculate Conception
Praying the O Antiphons
Advent Wreath Prayers New Translation 2011

Music:
Our Advent Music Plan
The Ageless Story

December 4: St. John Damascene and St. Barbara
St. John and St. Barbara

December 6, St. Nicholas:
Saintly Example of St. Nicholas
Celebration Ideas
Reading for St. Nicholas

Immaculate Conception, December 8
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Miraculous Medal images to color and cut.

Our Lady of Guadalupe, December 12
Spirit Child
Our Lady of Guadalupe

St. Lucy, December 13:
Lucia Saint of Light Book Review
St. Lucia
Lucia Dagen at O Night Divine

O Antiphons: December 17-23
O Antiphons
The Great O Antiphons
Praying the O Antiphons

=========

I share my printables for free and I hope you enjoy them. A small donation of a few dollars can help me continue to create and share my work for free. Thank you for your generosity!

Make a Donation Button
===============

6 thoughts on “Prepare Now!

  1. Our little church store just got in some of the prettiest Advent calendars I’ve seen. In fact, one I am fairly certain I nearly bought online last year so it definitely came home with me from the store!

  2. Thanks Jenn, I love your resources. I just got a copy of Children’s Advent and Christmas by Benedictine Nuns of Cockfosters. Do you do anything special with this? I’m thinking of breaking out into weekly readings for the season along with our Jesse tree readings.

    • The feeling is mutual! I love seeing all the book treasures you share! I haven’t done anything too special with that book. I like to use it at the key points of Advent to explain the “reason for the season” so to say. So the First Part will be the beginning of Advent, the second Part begun around the O Antiphons, closer to Christmas. The remaining will be reading during the Christmas season to Candlemas. I think the language is quite beautiful and well-done. I’d love to take their text and use beautiful images to illustrate it.

      Have you found any Rosemary Haughton booklets? They are really hard to find and expensive (Autumn and Advent, Winter and Christmas, Spring and Lent, Early Summer and Easter and Pentecost). These little booklets really display the idea I have always wanted — relate both the historical and spiritual aspects of the season, also incorporate some of the beautiful traditions, all relayed to the child, with beautiful illustrations. There are so many books that are directed to the adult, but if the child can see it, it makes it even more special.

  3. Thank you for sharing all your wonderful resources, Jennifer! They are so lovely and easy to use. 🙂 Perfect for me, as I am trying to keep this Advent and Christmas time simple, Holy, and meaningful, while hopefully preparing our home to make it as fair as I am able, which is a large task right now!

Thanks for the comment! I love hearing from you!