Advent is a Gift

I can’t imagine living in a family that doesn’t celebrate Advent. To skip Advent? It would be harder for me and my children to get through December to Christmas if we had nothing to feast on during the month.

My boys are so joyful, embracing all the Advent traditions and Liturgy. All the liturgy, all the customs, all the songs just marry into their eager anticipation for Christmas. The Church’s remembrance of the long awaited Messiah matches their longing for Christmas. It doesn’t feed the frenzy, but it nourishes their souls, and makes them filled. They are satisfied because their longing is matched and given nourishment.

They are dancing with joy, peeking in all our Advent boxes, remembering all the treasures from last year: the calendars, the creche, the empty manger, the Advent wreath, the candles, the Jesse Tree….

The New Year noisemakers are sounding, the boys making their own “Happy Advent and Happy New Liturgical Year” rejoicing.

They are singing all around the house different Advent songs: O Come, O Come Emmanuel, People Look East, Prepare, and Light One Candle.

The oldest lights the Advent wreath, and emits a joyful sigh as he watches the candle burn and sings his favorite Advent hymn, O Come, O Come, Emmanuel.

In living in this moment, imitating the child, all those excess worries that the preparation for Christmas brings disappear. Can I become like a little child? Can I be joyful and worry free like my little children?

I am pondering these moments all in my heart. Advent is a gift. And as a mother, I need to recognize that gift and accept it. I need to embrace it.

6 thoughts on “Advent is a Gift

  1. To me the real gift this year is the full four weeks! It’s helping me not feel frantic about Advent this year! We haven’t pulled out our Jesse Tree yet… but there is time! We’ve pulled out a few books, we’ve pulled out the Advent wreath, the songs,… and discussed purple and prepare… and the benefit of silence. We didn’t stir up anything on Sunday, but it’s so rich that what we don’t get to do won’t deprive them. I think I’m incapable of being worry free, but I’m working on it!

    • Yes, that is so true! I’m delayed here, too. I had the retreat and so nothing is really out but all the boxes and mess, and the Advent Wreath is still on the table…but I’m not too worried. The books have begun, but I, too, feel like I do have lots of time, especially this long Advent.

  2. I love the description of your son singing while lighting the Advent wreath, and singing them around the house. Are there any good Advent CDs you could recommend?

  3. New follower. So glad I discovered your blog this Advent. I have an 18-month-old and she is aware enough to be involved in our preparations so your suggestions have been helpful. And I love your book suggestions–many favorites from my childhood (so many out-of-print sadly!) and lots of new ones to try out. Thanks for your blog!

Thanks for the comment! I love hearing from you!