The Search for Shoes and Comfy Feet

MH900399964It has been almost two years since my whining post on my feet. So much has changed, and yet, so much is the same. The pain in my feet kept getting worse…although the doctors couldn’t find exactly what was wrong. One doctor suggested surgery, and second opinions were no help. I could barely walk. I wore lace-up braces and athletic shoes with orthotics and tons of pain pills.

I knew that I needed to help myself, so I thought if I lost weight perhaps it would help my pain level. I stopped eating wheat, and noticed within 2-4 weeks a drastic improvement. DRASTIC. And I found that avoiding foods in the nightshade family (tomatoes, potatoes, peppers) also improved my foot pain. I was able to stop all the medications and the braces. That experience made me realize that there are other inflammatory causing foods — besides the nightshade family and gluten, sugar and alcohol are other examples. Well, at least for me. And then I stopped drinking Diet Coke and I experienced more improvement.

My feet are still super sensitive to everything. I’ll be the old lady predicting weather and catastrophic events due changes in my foot pain.

Even if I’m top of all my good eating, my feet still hurt almost all of the time. I just have better and worse days. I have severe flat feet, extreme over-pronation, and a high instep, plus harder to fit narrow feet and heel. The search for the right comfortable shoes is ever consuming. I rarely buy shoes, and when I do, they need to last for years (because they are so expensive). When I finally do find the right shoes and buy them, it’s a big long production. I know I could buy online and buy from Zappos or other sites, but I do prefer to actually try on shoes.

I do not like to wear athletic shoes. My style is SO not sporty! But on days that I’m spending so much time on my feet, I wear my orthotics in my athletic shoes and endure the bad fashion choice. But what to wear with skirts and slacks, and even harder, dress up clothes? For years I’ve been wearing mostly Dansko, with some Mephisto sandals for summer. I need shoes with a strap. Clogs or clog style used to work, but now they aggravate my problems. Dansko shoes I think have changed. They are not comfortable for me any more.

MH900385815I do have prescription orthotics, but they are 3/4 size. Shoes rarely accommodate the orthotics comfortably without removing the footbed, and having only a 3/4 means there is no padding at the toe area. Solutions? One solution might mean a new full size orthotic. Not a great option because it means more $$$, but…

I can wear shoes without orthotics if they are super supportive, but it’s getting harder and harder to find the right shoes with extremely good arch and ankle support and nothing to aggravate my high instep. For years my go-to store has been The Walking Company. The local store is 40 minutes away, so our trips are planned and few and far between.

This Friday was one of those rare trips, and DH and the boys accompanied me for moral support. I did spend some time researching online, but most of the shoes I thought would work didn’t. Most of the shoes that could support orthotics weren’t supportive for the pronation issue. Floppy and soft and low sides don’t work and flats aren’t good. I also need ankle support. The process was long and tedious. I ended up buying Dansko Harlow but they are going back. After wearing them at home, they are causing metatarsal pain — an issue I don’t usually have!

I think my feet have outgrown this store. Dansko doesn’t support my feet any more, and the other two major brands that The Walking Company really pushes (ABEO and UC 24/7, I think these are their own brands) really don’t work for me. The store carries less stock in the other brands, so I can’t try on other options. Plus, it seems they are just pushing brands, and really not catering to each foot.

Of course, now comes summer, and I HATE to wear shoes. My feet get hot and uncomfortable. But I need shoes now with some support for all times. It’s been a hard fact to face that I cannot be barefoot anymore.

While I’m still looking for the everyday shoes to wear all year, I need some cooler summer options. Ideally I like to have a dressier sandal and then something that can endure long walks and picnics and baseball games. Mephisto Helen has been my tough sandals (and house shoes / flip flops) for years (I’ve gone through 3 pairs), but it’s seriously time for new ones as the footbed has no support any more. I’m considering switching to Mephisto Elka or Hannel or Birkenstock Habana or Florida. Switching to Birkenstock would be a big jump for me (and my DH) as we aren’t even slightly crunchy or have any hippie fashion acclimation at all. This post has some possible options, although I am concerned about the soft sides. The closed toe shoes might be a good substitute for those awful looking athletic shoes, but I am concerned that they are so flat….

I’m impressed if you made it this far on my whining post about my feet and shoes! Does anyone else have this problem? I can’t find the right shoe. My current shoes are 2-3 years old AT LEAST. They are uncomfortable and almost unwearable, but seem to be better than the newer options. It’s not that I’m indecisive, it’s just that my feet are so needy! So now I need to return my new Danskos and find another local store that specializes in more orthopedic shoes, and perhaps buy my supportive sandals online.

If you have similar problems, I’d love to hear your recommendations!

ETA: I think I’ve found a store I’d like to try: Potomac Cobbler Foot Comfort Center.

22 thoughts on “The Search for Shoes and Comfy Feet

  1. Yes! I have similar problems- pronating, flat feet. There were days (years) it hurt to get out of bed. I have no shoe recommendations but I do like Birkenstocks. I wear the garden shoes a lot and have worn the same pair for 14 years, even when working full days at a nursery.
    My feet are better now because I’m just not running as much, but they are still my biggest issue when hiking. I hope you post if you find something!

    • I didn’t know they made a gardening clog! I definitely could use something like that!

      Getting out of bed is one of the hardest! My feet hurt worse in the morning — which makes me think that a lot is food related! I’m sorry to hear you have similar problems!

      I hate thinking about shoes and my feet. I guess it’s another way to help my time be shorter in Purgatory!

  2. Hi. My husband had terrible foot pain with bunyons until we changed our diet. You might try raw milk kefir. It totally changed my hubby’s life. He’s playing more soccer now than he could in his late 20’s. He’s now 43. Fermented foods and gelled stock have been very effective healing agents for us. Good luck and prayers.
    Lynn

  3. Jenn, I didn’t realize that your foot problems are so extreme! I did make it through your entire post, because you are important to me ( even though we have never met irl) and because I too have problems with feet and shoes…
    I do think your feet will have to adjust to any new shoe. If your present shoes are so old, they have also changed from their original form to fit exactly your foot. I think good shoes do that.
    I do not have one full proof brand of shoe, but do have a couple of names to throw out – Ganter and Walky. I don’t know what is available in the US. Keep us up to date if you find anything.

  4. Just a note to add. I have never been able to wear Birkenstocks – they are too wide for me. Romeika makes similar styles and are not so wide, but I think the quality is inferior to Birkenstocks.

  5. Oh wow, Jennifer, I feel for you. I hate shoe shopping just as much as you b/c I have very narrow feet. Have you searched for shoe shops that cater to nurses by any chance since they’re on their feet all day long? There’s a Birkenstock store in Vienna that carries a few different brands that I bought my Danskos from a few years ago that might be worth checking into or at the very least, there’s a foot an ankle orthopedist in Falls Church that sells shoes specifically for the purpose of using orthotics in them. I only remembered that b/c one of my boys broke his wrist last spring and we ended up there for therapy. Good luck! Feet aren’t something to mess with and I really feel for you.

    • Thanks, Kristina! I think I might have found the perfect place in Woodbridge. http://potomaccobblerfootcomfortcenter.com/ I just got off the phone with them, and the owner is a licensed Pedorthist, which is a like a pharmacist to a doctor. Their philosophy is to look at the foot and not push a brand of shoe, so that is music to my ears. I’ll bring in my orthotics and they will help me!

      I just need to figure out when I can get there.

  6. Besides achy ankles I have pain in my feet, too, though it’s off and on and right now it’s off (thank God because with my other aches and issues I don’t think I could handle foot pain!). I have had plantar fasciitis off and on for 21 years, since my second pregnancy. I’ve had steroid shots and refuse to get them any more because they are so painful.

    My very favorite shoes are haflinger boiled wool clogs. They are the very best support for my feet. But because they are wool I don’t wear them “on the street” even though they have solid soles. They are my house shoes. I tried another pair of Haflinger shoes, but like you experienced with the Danskos, i think they changed then because they dont feel great. They are also a lot heavier than the clogs.

    I never thought I’d wear Birkies, and they took a long time to get used to, but I do love them in the summer. I need a new pair — I think the ones I currently have are four years old. They do last a long time so there’s an advantage!

    I hate tennis shoes, too. I hate having my foot all tied up — maybe I have sensory issues because it drives me crazy and I’d rather give up doing what I want to do than have my feet squeezed into athletic shoes. It’s hard to not be able to buy cute shoes, isn’t it? Every once in a great while I can, and if they feel good, I buy two, but it’s rare. My daughter has more shoes than I do!

    • Thanks, Barbara! I’ve had my eye on the Halfingers for house shoes. I used to never wear slippers, but ever since my pregnancies I realize I need to wear supportive shoes in the house (I’m not the slipper type AT ALL, either). I’ve been wearing my Mephisto Helen shoes, but my feet got cold this winter. I’m not wool tolerant, so I do worry about having boiled wool on my feet.

      I’m the same way about the tie-up shoes. My feet feel trapped! You’d think I’d get over that since I was the geeky girl with the orthopedic oxfords all through Catholic school (orthotics were glued in, so that meant special shoes to accommodate). But my high instep and claustrophobic feet really were miserable.

      Basically the foot problem just is so darn $$$$, but if your feet aren’t happy, how can you function properly?

  7. Pingback: Seven Quick Takes (Vol 147) | Family in Feast and Feria

  8. You know the type of feet issues my dad has and he’s been through many types of shoes over the decades but now what works best for him are Crocs. They are so cushiony and springing that alleviates his pain. Granted he needs to replace them every month or two but he is wearing they doing construction all day.

    My dad being my dad, he doesn’t care what his shoes look lie so he wears wears but I prefer the pretty, girly styles. Live a little wild and try a pair of flip flops:)

Thanks for the comment! I love hearing from you!